Catrice Rock Couture Extreme Volume Waterproof Mascara Review

Last week, I found myself hovering by the Catrice section of Dis-chem (the only drugstore/pharmacy that stocks the brand in South Africa). While there, I eyed their mascaras and spotted one with the sticker ‘new’ on top. I whipped out my phone and proceeded to Google search for any reviews on this mascara. Unfortunately, most of the reviews that I saw were in either in Dutch or German. Btw, does anyone else search for reviews on products while make-up shopping?

IMG_20170416_231327_617

That’s when I decided that it was my duty to buy it and review it for the benefit of English speakers everywhere! You’re welcome.

The mascara was retailing for R79.95. Slightly more than your average Essence mascara but still cheaper than a similar offering from Maybelline.

Claims:
1. Waterproof deep black mascara for extreme volume, length and curl
2. for an edgy catwalk look that lasts all day
3. Removable with waterproof eye make-up remover
4. Opthamologically tested

Sjoe! Those are some tall claims. Extreme volume, length and curl?

IMG_20170416_231526_175

I quite like the packaging. It is a black tube with turquoise writing. The mascara’s lid has little engraved studs (how rock and roll!). The studs have the added benefit of letting you recognise the mascara by touch in your vanity bag if you’re in a hurry instead of searching among your other mascaras.

The brush is narrow with short spikes. Something about the brush grips and combs through the lashes quite well, thus separating them. Don’t you just hate those mascaras whose idea of giving volume is clumping each third of your lashes into three thick lashes? No man!
The formula, like most waterproof mascara formulae, is on the drier side. Dry formula = probability for flaking shoots up. And flake, it sure does…

20170415_130546-1
The mascara gives a lovely wide-eyed look as you can see in the picture above. It also looks great paired with a dramatic cat eye or simple winged liner.

I would recommend curling your lashes before applying this mascara. Waterproof mascaras hold the curl better. For a straight-lashed girl like myself, a lash curler is a must for optimum results.

I have watery eyes which tear every time I yawn. Strange, right? Exhaustion is emotional. Anyway, that happened while I was wearing the Catrice Rock Couture Extreme Volume Waterproof Mascara. The end result was a tear down my cheek but no unsightly black streaks!
The Catrice Rock Couture Extreme Volume Waterproof Mascara excels in separating, lengthening and adding volume and staying intact despite the addition of water. However, curl is not automatic nor extreme and the flaking throughout the day undermines the ‘24HR’ promise on the tube.

Thank you for reading. 🙂
Do leave your thoughts by commenting below and sharing this post with fellow make-up lovers 

9 thoughts on “Catrice Rock Couture Extreme Volume Waterproof Mascara Review

  1. My all time favorite drugstore mascara is Loreal winglash (the silver and black one) it makes my lashes ultra, ultra black and so long! I don’t wear waterproof mascara because unfortunately taking it off is such a hassle 🙄 I cannot rub my eyes too much due to my operation. Loved this review though. Also, ur eye makeup looks slay girl! 😬😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The L’oreal mascaras have such a good reputation. I’m always hearing good things about them. The one downside to waterproof mascaras is the tedious removal so I totally understand. Luckily you’ve been blessed with naturally superlong lashes, judging by Saara’s sketch of you Masha Allah. Shukran 😊

      Like

  2. The brush does look interesting to me! I don’t know where I can get Catrice in the UK, I’m sure it’s on Amazon though so I may have to check this out!

    How is it to remove? I love waterproof mascara for the lasting power but sometimes they are so hard to remove that I end up not using a certain mascara! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The brush is great, it really separates! In terms of removal, I use my Garnier Pro Active Miscellar Water (the blue bottle). It does take 3 – 4 cotton pads to come completely off and you have to be delicate to avoid losing some eyelashes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The packaging is so cute! I have only tried 1 mascara from Catrice and I didn’t love it. I never buy waterproof mascara for some reason.

    My fave is roller lash by Benefit. I was also a huge fan of the L’oreal black carpet or superstar mascara. I can’t think of the name now, but it has the white fibre on one side and mascara on the other side.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like the packaging too! It’s my first mascara from Catrice as well. A lot of people tend to steer clear of waterproof mascara because of how tedious removing it can be. I think my next mascara purchase needs to be from L’oreal seeing as so many people are commenting about them on this post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

