The Write Up: a Review of the Essence Liquid Ink Waterproof Eyeliner

Hi everyone! What an busy week. I’m so relieved that the weekend is finally here. The weather in Cape Town this week was scorching. At a toasty 31° C with humidity levels off the charts on Thursday, I expected to see a brown puddle by my feet (my melted skin). Enough of that graphic imagery, let’s get into the review.
Essence is a great brand that constitutes 40 % of my modest make-up bag. It is reasonably priced and easily accessible. You can find gems in Essence section of pharmacies/drug stores selling them.

screenshot_2017-02-25-13-17-38-1

My eyeliner is often like an ostrich – the wings are not that impressive. But that doesn’t stop me from attempting to do wings and lining my waterlines until my vision is framed by black.The Essence Liquid Ink Eyeliner is one such affordable gem at +/-R55 at Clicks.

screenshot_2017-02-25-12-17-16-1

The eyeliner is jet black and dries matte. I don’t like it when the eyeliner dries and then has this weird shiny finish like black duct tape.
Be warned that if you’re prone to rubbing your eyes, it will flake!The eyeliner lives up to its name in that its formula is very inky. So when its just applied, there’s a possibility of smudging until it dries. Once dry, that possibility disappears.

20170225_203009
It has a thin brush applicator. I prefer it over a felt tip applicator as those tend to dry out. Be warned that if you’re prone to rubbing your eyes, it will flake!

 

What about those claims about it being waterproof? When I ran cold water over the stripe of liner on my hand, the liner stayed put. However, once I started to rub a bit, the liner was easily removed. Make of that what you will.

 

Either way, this is my go to liquid liner because of how vivid and matte it applies – even over eyeshadows.

One thought on “The Write Up: a Review of the Essence Liquid Ink Waterproof Eyeliner

Leave a Reply

