Review + Giveaway: African Extracts Rooibos Moisturising Day Cream

Moisturisers are tricky. Some turn your face into an oil slick, while others may struggle with their job description (i.e. providing moisture in the first place). I have tried many moisturisers under the sun, or rather the pharmacy’s ceiling. Let’s see if this one was a hit or a miss.
According to their website, African Extracts is a 15 year old South African skincare brand. I first spotted the range in a  local Youtuber’s skincare routine video. Later, I was bemoaning my failure to find a decent moisturiser for summer to Mishka from MakeupMendhiMishka on Instagram. She whipped the smaller version of this tube out of her make-up case and sang its praises. That’s when I knew I had to get it.


I ended up getting the bigger version (75 ml) because that was the only one in stock at the Clicks that I went to. Regret it, I do not.
The African Extracts Day Cream comes in a tube. Unlike some moisturisers which I used previously, such as the Himalaya Skin Natural Energising Day Cream (see my mini review of this on my Instagram) which come in a tub. The tube makes it more hygienic as well as handbag friendly. In terms of sun protection, this Day Cream only has SPF 15. It’s not much but it’s better than nothing I suppose.
The faint rooibos scent when I squeezed some of the Day Cream on the back of my hand was delightful! Rooibos is an indigenous bush used to make tea and now skincare products. Rooibos tea is my favourite caffeine-free tea. The smell isn’t overwhelming but it might be intolerable for people who prefer their beauty products without fragrance.


African Extracts Rooibos Moisturising Day Cream’s texture is on the thicker side. However, it isn’t difficult to blend away and be absorbed. The deal breaker for me was my skin feeling hydrated but without looking like I could fry samosas on my cheeks due to the oily residue. Overall, it’s a great moisturiser for dry to combination skin, especially in the summer.

While researching the brand on its website, I spied with my little eye a giveaway to celebrate them hitting the 15 year mark. The prize? An African Extracts Hamper to the value of R500! That equates to a whole lot of products, considering this brand is so reasonably priced. According to the T’s and C’s, the competition closes on the 30 April 2017. I’m not sure about whether its open to those outside of South Africa or not, though.

Disclaimer: I am in no way affiliated with this brand and this is not a sponsored post. I spotted the giveaway on their website and thought that it was a cool thing to share with my readers. At least if I don’t win, my consolation prize will be that someone I told about the competition, won.

One thought on “Review + Giveaway: African Extracts Rooibos Moisturising Day Cream

Leave a Reply

