{New Series} – Sassy Wishes: February Beauty Wishlist

I can’t believe we are almost saying goodbye to the first month of 2017! Endings are two fold -they signify the closing of one chapter but also an opening. Philosophy aside and onto the point of this post…

Beauty blogging is slightly unsustainable for me. I buy a new beauty product once a month on average. That makes haul posts far and few between. Monthly favourite would then become monthly favourite. To counteract this unsustainability, I’ve decided to introduce a new series: Sassy Wishes aka Monthly Wishlists

These are products that I’ve been recommended by fellow bloggers or Instagram influencers or simply something that caught my eye while on a vigorous window shop spree, emphasis on window. I often lament the fact that so many brands are not available in South Africa except through third party sellers. Then, like in the Kermit mene, I also say to myself: as if you would buy it if it was here. Closer to my birthday (which occurs in July), I can gently nudge friends and family members in the direction of this link, if they’re confused about what to get me or I can refer back to this when my loyalty points garner me some cashback.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer
Ever since I bought the Beauty Treats 24 Matte Eyeshadow Palette – you can read the review here – I’ve been on the lookout for a good eyeshadow primer. This one was recommended to me by Leigh from this blog . Urban Decay recently returned to South Africa and are available to buy online from Foschini apparently. I have yet to try Foschini’s online beauty store due to my general apprehension related to online shopping. My life is a series of apprehensions, publicised on this blog. Urban Decay is also high-end – the end of the line I tend not to shop from. Perhaps this product would be worth the splurge, though?

Reproduced from the Urban Decay website

 

Nyx Eyeshadow Base
I am astounded that I have never tried anything from Nyx. I’ve been close to but always stop myself for some reason. This was Leigh’s second suggestion. Nyx is the perfect balance between high end quality and range with drugstore pricing

screenshot_2017-01-29-18-19-56-1
Reproduced from http://www.clicks.co.za
.

Wet n Wild Longlast Lipstick in Mocha-licious
Aah, Wet n Wild, we meet again. See my review on their Coverall Foundation here. I have heard nothing but good things about this range of lipstick. Mocha-licious, particularly, is said to be a dupe for the Mac lipstick in Bare it All. This shade also looks perfect for Autumn which begins in February in South Africa.


Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara
I must admit that I was taken aback by the name of this mascara. Moving on swiftly. This was recommended by fellow blogger, Vive Halal. Although Too Faced is not available in South Africa, Viv Halal suggested that I order it through Amazon UK.

screenshot_2017-01-29-18-19-11-1
Reproduced from the Too Faced Website

The Body Shop Matte Lip Liquid
I have commented about my feelings towards The Body Shop, albeit on someone else’s blog. The customer service, unlike at some make-up counters where the pre-requisite to work there is to wear a scowl on your perfectly done up face, is always great. I bought my friend one of their liquid lipsticks as a gift but neglected to get myself one. Each shade is named after a flower’s scientific name. Although it’s a mouthful, I appreciate the brand’s originality. I also feel like it fits The Body Shop’s image of nature meets beauty meets skincare.

Reproduced from The Body Shop UK

Would you be able to tolerate this series for the remaining months of the year? Which products would feature on your wishlist if you had one?

 

7 thoughts on “{New Series} – Sassy Wishes: February Beauty Wishlist

  1. I wasn’t going to say anything, but I absolutely despise the mascara’s name. They could have called it anything! I’ve been thinking of buying the UD primer potion too, but personally, it’s not worth it (I never wear eyeshadow). I’m looking forward to more posts like this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like recently brands have been going for shock value when it comes to naming their products to make them more memorable… I guess when it comes to buying products, especially the high end, one has to weigh up how much it’ll be used vs how much you pay for it so sensible decision on your part.
      I’m glad you like the new series! 🙂 Btw, what is your name? I go by Nimmi.

      Like

Leave a Reply

