My First Ever Eyeshadow Palette Purchase! The Beauty Treats 24 Matte Eyeshadow Palette Review

My eyeshadow purchases – much like the relationship status of some – have been single. The glittery and shimmery palettes that I do have were received as gifts. While I like to ‘shine bright like a diamond’ as much as the next person, shimmery eyeshadow is not exactly subtle when you want it to be. Having watched many rom-coms, done three semesters of politics and stumbled across motivational Mondays on various social media, it is old news to me that we always want we don’t have. All of that changed when I spotted the Beauty Treats Palette at Dis-chem (a local pharmacy aka ‘drugstore’), retailing for R95. That’s just under R4 per eyeshadow! Yes, I used a calculator.

20170115_110021

20170115_104929
The back of the palette includes the ingredients, place of origin as well as an expiry date. Sometimes I forget that make-up actually expires.

I read one or two reviews of this product before posting my own. They seemed to fall into two camps: the first lambasted the product while the second acknowledged it’s limitations whilst suggesting solutions. I hope to be categorised under the second as well. One cannot buy something cheap like this and automatically expect something along the lines of Urban Decay in terms of quality.

20170122_172056

The Beauty Treats 24 Matte Eyeshadow Palette is divided into 12 neutral colours and 12 non-neutrals (for lack of a better antonym). The neutrals especially appealed to me as some could act as a transition shade. I was using pressed powders like the Maybelline Clear Smooth All in One Powder in Toffee as a transition shade thus far, because it was way too orange put elsewhere. Perhaps a review of that is in order as well…But anyway, I digress.

20170115_1725120
There are nine swatches on my hand. Some of them seem to be wearing Harry Potter’s Invisibility Cloak.

As you can tell by the three swatches I did of the neutrals in the third column of the palette (rows are too mainstream), they are not super pigmented. Although the yellow looks almost neon whilst sitting pretty in the pan, it is barely visible on my skin. Unfortunately this is the case with many of the other lighter shades as well.

Also, make sure to wear a primer to get the true colour to show. I do not own an eyeshadow primer. So I used my Revlon Colorstay Concealer in Light/Medium as one! There’s a saying in Afrikaans: “’n boer maak ‘n plan” (Literally: a farmer makes a plan). Essentially, it means that we are resourceful.

screenshot_2017-01-22-17-06-13-1
Top: my eye. Bottom: Maryam Maquillage. I attempted to recreate the blue smokey eye done Maryam Maquillage with this palette and uploaded it onto Instagram. P.S I had to dampen my eyeshadow brush to make that blue eyeshadow so vivid.

Beauty Treats is an okay buy for make-up beginners (which is what I consider myself to be). While I admire the Tarte and Morphe palettes… neither are available in South Africa. And the ones that are sold here, such as the Stila and Urban Decay palettes consisting only out of matte eyeshadows, are beautiful but the prices are not.

How do you deal with eyeshadows which are less endowed in the pigmentation department? Can you suggest a good drugstore eyeshadow primer for me?

4 thoughts on “My First Ever Eyeshadow Palette Purchase! The Beauty Treats 24 Matte Eyeshadow Palette Review

Leave a Reply

