Essence All About Matt! Fixing Powder Review

I discovered, or rather was introduced, to the Essence All About Matt! Compact Powder on an impromptu trip to the mall after I forgot my face powder palette at home ahead of an event. Rather than commute home and then back to the venue, I enlisted my friend Saara [View her blog here] and we went to Cavendish Square to buy a substitute.

I admit I was apprehensive when Saara – a drugstore make-up affinacio of sorts as you may have now realised from her blog – suggested I buy the Essence powder. It was stark white! I don’t recall there being a tester for the powder at the time so the only thing being tested was our friendship. At under R70, and loyalty points to gain from the purchase, I really had nothing to lose…except maybe ruined photo ops. So I gave it a go.

pixlr_20170119134856469
Top: Essence All About Matt! Fixing Powder Swatch Bottom: Blended out roughly with fingers

I used the Fixing Powder to set my BB cream and the concealer under my eyes. I was pleasantly surprised when the Essence All About Matt! Fixing Powder blended away to transparency rather than make me look like a ghost.

Some other pleasant surprises includes the product’s ability to live up to its claims. For instance, the powder mattifies instantly. However,  a little goes a long way. Applying too much can cause cakiness and may leave a slight white case. The fact that the whiteness of the powder can be blended away gives this product a wide range of appeal and versatility.

The event I mentioned was in May 2016. I’ve been using the Essence All About Matt! Fixing Powder since then and the pan is barely dented. So much so that I can’t believe there’s only eight grams of product in there. In that way, it’s value for money.

20170119_155808-1.jpg

On the downside, the compact is made of thin plastic with one metal hinge keeping the lid on. It is extremely delicate and has since broken off as you can see. I now have to keep this in a ziplock bag. It’s an issue I had with another Essence product, the single eyeshadow in ‘Black is the New Black’ as well. An improvement in the quality of the packaging will garner this product close to perfection in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

