‘Out, damned spot!” A Review of Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

Yes, that was a reference to Shakespeare’s Macbeth. Fun fact: I played Lady Macbeth in our high school’s take on the play. Moving on swiftly from my swift and short-lived career in theatre and onto make-up removal…

Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water was doing the rounds on the beauty blogosphere some time back. And I was instantly enthralled, but I was also sceptical. The contents looked like plain old water with some bubbles added for good measure. Although aqua/water is an ingredient – as one would expect – it is coupled by Hexylene Glycol, glycerine, disodium cocoamphodiacetate, disodium edta, poloxamer 184 and polyaminopropyl biguanide. By the way, do any of you physics majors know what the scientific name for bubbles is?

20170112_070212
The first thing that attracted me to the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water was the words: “no rinsing required”. In the past, make-up removal wipes and oil-based removers had always left a residue on my face. Secondly, when it had just released, they had two versions: a blue bottle and a pink bottle. The latter was specifically for sensitive skin. Although I wouldn’t describe my skin as sensitive – surely my inherent sassiness cancels out the sensitivity? But I had used make-up removers that had made my eyes burn. Yes , I know that there are make-up removers made especially for eyes but “ain’t nobody got time for that”. I would rather a remover that can work on my entire face, which is what the Micellar Cleansing Water does.
I simply coat a cotton wool pad with the Micellar Water and then wipe it over my face to remove the make-up. The bottle had a small dot-sized opening which controls the amount of product being released as well as prevents wastage.
Unfortunately, in a battle between stubborn waterproof mascara and the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water…the Water would lose.

3 thoughts on “‘Out, damned spot!” A Review of Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

    1. Thanks for stopping by at the blog 🙂 I usually just use coconut oil for really waterproof make-up, but now I know the blue bottle is another alternative. I also find that the pink bottle is good with waterproof eyeliners in general. It Cosmetics isn’t available in SA. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

